450 Harrison Ave., Boston, MA

SOLO 2018 Competition

Join Our Email List
For Email Marketing you can trust

Please sign up for our email list, above, to receive notices about the SOLO competition and other artist opportunities.



The SOLO 2018 Finalists are:

Emily Belz
Dana Filbert
Sharon Lacey
Avery Lucas
Nancy S. McCormack


Deadline: Sunday, October 1, 2017, at midnight

Juror: Emily Zilber, Curator, MFA.*

Fee: $35 for up to 5 images

SOLO 2018 awards two solo exhibitions, all gallery expenses paid, to two New England artists who have not previously had a solo show in a commercial gallery (group shows, universities, libraries, etc. do not disqualify). All media are welcome.

Ideally, these 5 jpgs represent a recent, coherent body of work. Please prepare your materials carefully before submitting; no revisions are accepted. Applications not accepted by email, postal, CD or any other means.

Finalists will be asked to bring 3-5 pieces of current work, representing their proposed exhibition, to the gallery in early November for review by the juror. Winners will be posted December 1 on the gallery website.

The two winning exhibitions will be held in January, 2018.

QUESTIONS? Email Gary Duehr, Gallery Manager, at info@bromfieldgallery.com





*Emily Zilber is the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston’s first Ronald L. and Anita C. Wornick Curator of Contemporary Decorative Arts. Since 2010, Zilber has been responsible for the MFA’s vibrant program of contemporary decorative arts, including guiding acquisitions and developing a presence for craft and design in the Linde Family Wing for Contemporary Art and throughout the museum.  Zilber oversees the Daphne and Peter Farago Gallery, a dedicated space for modern and contemporary craft, design, and decorative arts.  This gallery opened in September 2011 with "Crafting Contemporary: Selections from the Daphne Farago Collection."  Recent projects include "New Blue-and-White", which focused on contemporary interpretations of blue-and-white traditions by artists across media (2013); the reinstallation of the Farago Gallery with works from the MFA's permanent collection (2013); and "Nature, Sculpture, Abstraction and Clay: 100 Years of American Ceramics" (2015).  The exhibition and publication “Crafted: Objects in Flux” (2015) explored a moment of “flux” in the crafts, focusing on contemporary craft-based artists who bridge cutting-edge concepts, new technologies, and traditional skills as they embrace and explore the increasingly blurred boundaries between art, craft, and design. 
Prior to joining the MFA, Zilber was Assistant Curator at Cranbrook Art Museum at Cranbrook Academy of Art in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan.  She has edited and written for numerous publications and speaks internationally on topics related to 20th and 21st-century decorative arts, craft, and design.  She is a founding member of the Boston-based consortium The Commonwealth of Craft and a member of the Board of Trustees of the Boston Society of Arts and Crafts.  Zilber holds a BA in art history from The University of Chicago and an MA from the Bard Graduate Center for Decorative Arts, Design History, and Material Culture.






Who is eligible?
New England artists only. You must not have had a solo exhibition in a commercial gallery anywhere, even if years ago. A commercial gallery is a space devoted soley to selling art. (Group shows, university galleries, libraries, bookstores, cafes, community centers, etc., do not disqualify.)

Is New York considered part of New England?
No, New York is part of the Mid-Atlantic states. The six New England states are Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Do I need to be currently living in New England?
Your primary residence needs to be in New England between the application deadline and January 31 - the end of the exhibition.

What expenses are paid for the winners?
All gallery expenses: postcard, exhibition fee, reception etc. The winners must still pay for the materials and creation of their artwork, as well as all travel or shipping costs.

How do artists in video or time-based media submit?
Apply online, and include online links to your work in the Artist Statement box. You may submit jpgs of stills or screen shots.

Are entries accepted via email, artist website or CD?
No, all entries must be submitted online.

How are artists notified?
All entrants will be emailed with the results. The competition results will be posted on the gallery website by December 1.

How do artists know their submission was received?
You will receive a thank you email from Submittable.

What kind of work should the submitted images represent?
Ideally, the online jpgs are from one recent, coherent body of work, which represents the exhibition you would show in January if selected. (They should also reflect the work you would bring in as a finalist.) For the exhibitions, the winning artists pick their own artwork from this body, and all work must be for sale.

What size and format do jpgs need to be?
Please use this format for the jpg name: 01_YourLastName_ArtworkTitle.
If possible, make the longest side no bigger than 800 pixels, or 12 inches at 72 dpi. You may condense the jpgs as medium quality.


SOLO 2017 Winners:
Rudolf Lingens
Denise Driscoll

Juror: Sarah Montross, Associate Curator at deCordova Sculpture Park

SOLO 2016 Winners:
Andrea Greitzer
Camilo Ramirez

Juror: Ruth Erickson, Assistant Curator at the Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston

SOLO 2015 Winners:
Lyell Castonguay
Wendy Wolf

Juror: Judith Tolnick Champa, independent curator

SOLO 2014 Winners:
Kim Carlino
James Lentz

Juror: Al Miner, Assistant Curator of Contemporary Art, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

SOLO 2013 Winners:
Lauren Cotton
Kelly Goff

Juror: Dina Deitsch, Curator of Contemporary Art, deCordova Sculpture Park and Museum

SOLO 2012 Winners:
Johnathan Derry
Alison Kotin

Juror: Jen Mergel, Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

SOLO 2011 Winners:
Alvin Case
Ross Normandin

Juror: Randi Hopkins, Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston

SOLO 2010 Winners:
Jarrett Min Davis
Larry Volk

Juror: Brian T. Allen, Director of the Addison Gallery of American Art in Andover, MA





All images copyright by individual artists   |   All materials on this site © 2002 – 2009 Bromfield Gallery


search home gallery artists exhibitions: past, current, and future artist opportunities about Bromfield gallery home directions